Year of Firsts cont….

I attended my first “rookie” AP meeting today. I attended my AP meeting back when we started on contract, but this one was just for the noobs! šŸ˜‰

One of the things that was brought up in our discussion/meeting was this cool quote by Haim Ginott –

ā€œI’ve come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element in the classroom. It’s my daily mood that makes the weather. As a teacher, I possess a tremendous power to make a child’s life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration. I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis will be escalated or de-escalated and a child humanized or de-humanized.ā€

That’s pretty powerful there!

Another thing that always strikes home with me is the….taking time to teach social skills. This seems like a waste of time, but it is well worth the effort. Taking a little time every Monday to visit some social skills and talk about expectations will take care of issues before they become issues….

I also read this today….by John Maxwell, “The average person will try to pull down anyone around him who is working to rise above average.” And, “Great people desire to bring out the greatness in others. Small people will try to put the same limits on you that they have put on themselves.” Ouch! Dang small people….get away from me! šŸ˜‰

PEACE

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

